REPUBLICAN PARTY OF KENTUCKY 2ND CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICT COMMITTEE DECISION ON APPEAL FROM MEMBERS OF THE NELSON COUNTY COMMITTEE

Barbara J. Floyd, Joe Armstrong, James Beery, Paula Burkot, Gina Craven, Karen Crume, Ron Crume, David Floyd, Nick Kipper, Genita Limke, Marion Kelly Pulliam, Hunter Shehan and Debbie Sneed

Appellants

Pursuant to Republican Party Kentucky (RPK) Rule 10.04 (a), "all contests and controversies arising in City, Precinct, Magisterial District and County matters shall be ruled upon by the County Committee; provided, however, the losing party may appeal for a hearing to a special Republican Congressional District committee within ten (10) days after being notified of the County Committee's decision. The Republican Congressional District Committee officers, namely the Chairman and Co-Chairman, shall comprise the said special District committee. In the event that any officer cannot or will not serve, the District Chairman shall appoint a replacement member for the hearing. Legal Counsel for the RSCC, or his/her designee, may attend the hearing in an ex-officio and non-voting capacity."

Laura LaRue, 2nd Congressional District Chair, formed a committee comprised of Dr. Scott Lasley (2nd District Vice-Chair), Tom Tye, (2nd District Secretary) and Aaron Witten (2nd District Treasurer).

For clarification purposes, Nelson County does not have an "Executive Committee." A county committee and Executive Committee are not interchangeable terms under the rules. Rule 4.08 states that County Committees are the governing body of the Local GOP organizations. County Committees may elect an Executive Committee and if the election occurs, the Executive Committee will not be recognized in any way unless and until the RPK Headquarters receives written notification of the election of an Executive Committee that includes a list with the names, addresses, telephone numbers and e-mail addresses of the newly elected Executive Committee. In the event that such an Executive Committee is elected and properly recorded with RPK, it shall function in place of the County Committee. Therefore, appellant B. Floyd cannot be on the Executive Committee as none officially exists.

Appellants in their Notice of Appeal asked:

1. That the addition of the individuals by the Nelson county Special Executive Committee as Precinct Officers on November 20, 2018 was invalid under the rules.

FINDINGS: The 2nd District Committee determined that proper notice of the special County Committee meeting was given and, given that one or more of the appellants voted in that meeting with no point of order, the Election of precinct officers to fill vacancies is valid. Appeal denied.

2. That the November 30, 2018 purported Notice of Special Called Meeting of the County Committee was therefore deficient.

FINDINGS: The 2nd District Committee determined that Notice was not deficient. Appeal Denied

3. That the December 5, 2018 Special Called Meeting was improperly held.

FINDINGS: The 2nd District Committee determined that the December 5, 2018 meeting was <u>not</u> improperly held. Appeal Denied.

4. And, that, accordingly, all business transacted at said meeting is invalid and set aside.

FINDINGS: The 2nd District Committee already determined that the meeting was properly held, therefore all business transacted stands. Appeal Denied

5. That Alan Brown, Jr. shall pay the Appellants' fees and costs pursuant to this appeal.

FINDINGS: The 2nd District Committee has no authority to assign costs.

One final note: the 2nd District Committee reviewing the appeal was contacted by Joe Armstrong via email that his name was listed as an appellant without his permission and that he feels that all notices, meetings and elections were conducted properly.

Laura LaRue, RPK 2nd Congressional District Chair Dr. Scott Lasley, RPK 2nd Congressional District Vice Chair

Tom, Tye, RPK 2nd Congressional District Secretary & Boyle County Chairman

Aaron Witten, RPK 2nd Congressional District Treasurer