Thirty-five students from Nelson County named Sen. Jeff Green Scholars

Education News

Monday, Sept. 10, 2018 — Thirty-five recent high school graduates from Nelson County have been named Senator Jeff Green Scholars by the Kentucky Higher Education Assistance Authority (KHEAA). To earn this honor, a student must have a 4.0 grade point average each year of high school and at least a 28 composite on the ACT.

These students have also earned $2,500 a year in Kentucky Educational Excellence Scholarship (KEES) awards. If they keep their grades up in college, they will have $10,000 to use toward a four-year degree.

The designation honors the late state Sen. Jeff Green of Mayfield, who served in the Kentucky General Assembly from 1992 to 1997.

The local scholars are:

Bardstown High School: Elizabeth Finn, Erin Hardin, Austin Kisegy, Sara Luckett, Grace Manley, Joseph Newton, Lauren Roby, Selena Spencer.

Bethlehem High School: Ariel Becker, Alexander Brown, Benjamin Carter, Emily Faith, Hunter McCoy, Mana McCoy, Vivian Seeger, Cassandra Thomas, Andrew Werner.

Nelson County High School: Madison Faulkner, Nathaniel Fell, Austin McCandless, Taylor Tayce, Morgan Thompson.

Thomas Nelson High School: Caitlyn Binkley, Grace Frederick, Samantha Guernsey, Eleanor Hagan, Elizabeth Hagan, Olivia Hagan, Richard Hughes, Bethany Orr, Kendall Roller, Rachel Tichenor, Juanita Vittitow, Kayla Yocum.

LaRue County High School: Sophia Akin.

KEES and other Kentucky student aid programs are administered by KHEAA. KEES awards are funded by net Kentucky lottery proceeds and may be used at most colleges and universities in Kentucky. In some cases, the award may be used at an out-of-state school if the major the student is pursuing is not available in Kentucky. No application is necessary for KEES awards.

For more information about Kentucky scholarships and grants, visit www.kheaa.com.


Comments are closed